No. 10 Mira Calix

mira
Mira Calix –  Acrylic and collage on reclaimed board

It’s taken me months to get back to work on this- still nagging doubts about my accomplishment here – have I made Mira Calix into a kind of glitter-fairy icon? Will she be offended…?

Looking at the portrait now as I write I want to add more – layers and glazes and texture and dots… but I maybe have to just stop. And I kind of like it.

Mira is an explorer of sound – not just in the production of music but in how sound affects us. Watch her TED talk to get an idea of what she does:

Find her website here.

And a field recordings track:

 

Good luck Mira and thanks for your amazing music and work!

Leave a Reply

